Baseball and Technology, part 1


I am new to the world of fancy technology like smart phones.  But recently I’ve learned just how valuable this new technology can be for baseball fans.  You can get all kinds of fun apps that can keep you tuned into the game even if you’re at the gym, on the road, or stuck at work. 

Scoreboard at Steinbrenner Field in Tampa

Just the other day I discovered that I could even watch and listen to games on my phone!  The work day just became a whole lot more interesting!  Here’s to more day games!

There are other uses for this nifty technology, as well.  While at a Spring Training game, my technology adept baseball buddy taught me how to use my phone to follow the game.  It was Spring Training, and the stadium didn’t have all the bells and whistles of the typical big league park – no electronic signs to tell us how fast the ball was going, no state-of-the-art sound system, and really bad video re-plays.  But with the use of my phone, I was able to follow the game, though with a slight time delay for the data to reach the phone app.

It was definitely a 21st century experience:  sitting at a picnic table at the ballpark, watching the game on a TV screen, and following the play by play on a smart phone. 

I highly recommend it!

~ baseballrebecca

4 thoughts on “Baseball and Technology, part 1

Leave a Reply

