Bobble Quest, Part 1


Nolan Reimold BobbleheadA few weeks ago, I began my 2011 Bobble Quest by attending Mystery Bobblehead Night at the Bowie Baysox.  Secretly hoping for a Jake Arrieta or a Matt Weiters, I got Nolan Reimold instead.  Once I got over my initial disappointment, I decided he’s pretty cool.  And he’s gonna look great on my bobblehead shelf next to Nick Markakis and Cal Ripken.

But Nolan was only the tip of the iceberg.  By then I had Bobble Fever and simply had to keep collecting.  To make up for not getting out to the Delmarva Shorebirds for Manny Machado bobblehead night on July 1, I decided I was going to collect every Jayson Werth bobblehead that was being given out in the area.  My first attempt was July 8.  The Frederick Keys were handing out the precious bobbles at their 6:35 p.m. game.  Unfortunately, I had to work that day, and even though I planned to take an hour of vacation time to leave early, getting there by 5:35 (to ensure I got in line early enough to collect one of the only 1,000 dolls being handed out) was not going to be easy. 

Bobbleheads from my collection including Cal Ripken and Nick MarkakisThen the torrential rains came.  The D.C. beltway is not a fun place on a Friday evening.  Its even worse in the summer.  And forget it when it rains.  The city of  Frederick is at least 90 minutes away from where I live on a good day.  On that night, I wasn’t even halfway there in 60 minutes.  I had to admit defeat.  No Jayson Werth bobblehead for me.

At least not that night.  I still have two more chances this week.  I’d tell you where, but I don’t want any more competition.

 To be continued…

~ baseballrebecca

 

10 thoughts on “Bobble Quest, Part 1

Leave a Reply

