Bobbles Come to Those Who Wait


Brian Matusz bobblehead!Sometimes its best not to try too hard.  Thursday night was Brian Matusz bobblehead night at the Bowie Baysox.  I was going to go, but then thought better of it.  The Bobble Quest hasn’t been going all that well this year, and only the first 250 fans would receive a Brian bobble.  The odds were stacked against me.

But believe me, I did consider it.  I could have skipped lunch and left work a few minutes early (even though that’s frowned upon).  I could have ditched my favorite class at the gym.  And I would have had to avoid all traffic and traffic problems (such as the closed roads due to flooding or whatever they were closed for) and hope the traffic lights were working once again on route  214.  But it just exhausted me to think about it all.  Besides, I’d gone to the game the night before.  Two work-nights in a row was a little too much, even for me.

About 9 o’clock that night there was a knock on my door.  An angel bearing bobbleheads?  Ok, it was actually just my sister.  But she did have a Brian  Matusz bobblehead in her arms!  She’d been to the game and was giving me her bobblehead.  (She was also dropping off her key so I could dog sit, but still, it was really nice!)  (Oh, and Brian’s (the bobble, not the pitcher) foot is broken, but still, it was really nice!)

Sometimes, good things really do come to those who wait. 

~ baseballrebecca

Leave a Reply

