Confessions of a Yankee Hater, Part IV


I tried to be nice to the Yankees the other day. Really – I did! The MLB All-Star ballot just came out, and I was going to vote for a Yankee or two, just to see what it felt like.  (After all, you can vote up to 25 times online!)  So, for first base in the American League, I clicked on Mark Teixeira.  Since he’s from Maryland, it wasn’t too painful a choice.

The next voting category was second base.  Robinson Cano.  Ok.  He’s got a cool name.  Click.

Next up:  short stop.  My clicking hand froze.  Derek Jeter.  I didn’t think I could do it.  Jeter?  Nope.  Can’t.  Not gonna happen.

All I could think of was the Jeffrey Maier Incident of 1996. (O’s fans have good memories. We have to.) It was Jeter that hit that ball in the AL championship series. It would have been caught. Instead, a kid (Maier) interfered. (See the video here.)  No fan interference was called, and the Yankees went on to win the World Series.  The Orioles have only seen the post season once since then (1997).  It still stings.

Grudge not over.

After that, I went back and voted for all Orioles.  Its tradition.  Besides, the Yankees don’t need my vote.  Maybe I’ll try being nicer next year!

~ baseballrebecca

 

One thought on “Confessions of a Yankee Hater, Part IV

  1. Jeffrey Maier is lucky he was a Yankee fan in Yankee Stadium, and not Steve Bartman at Wrigley in 2003. I live inside the Brewers-Cardinals rivalry and have to deal with so much hype around the Cards so I completely understand your hatred for the Yankees. But I’m glad the Cardinals and Yankees exist. It makes for great drama.

    Like

Leave a Reply

