The Things Baseball Players Will Sell Us


I’m in the market for a new car, so I guess I’ve been paying a little more attention to car commercials lately.  I’ve noticed that baseball apparently is still used to sell cars.  I’m sure most of us can hum the tune to the old Chevy jingle, “baseball, hot dogs, apple pie and Chevrolet.”  Prince Fielder and Justin Verlander certainly can.

In fact, apparently Chevrolet has been the “Official Vehicle of Major League Baseball” since 2005.  So I guess it makes sense, then, that Cal Ripken would still be doing Chevy commercials, too. 

Some players, however, have ventured beyond Chevy.  Kevin Youkilis appears to be an equal opportunity car salesman with his ad for the Herb Chambers company, which seems to sell pretty much everything.  I’m sure there are a lot more ball players doing local commercials… Like, Stephen Strasburg trying to sell us a Toyota.

Unfortunately, not even Cal has inspired me to buy a car.  Apparently, ball players don’t sell the cute, practical cars women want.  I guess I’ll have to rely on other role models for car buying inspiration.  I wonder what kind of car Effa Manley or the Fort Wayne Daisies would have tried to sell us…

~ baseballrebecca

2 thoughts on “The Things Baseball Players Will Sell Us

Leave a Reply

