Three Teams, Three Days


It’s been my goal this summer to catch three games in one weekend – not an easy feat, I assure you.  Sure, we’ve all done that on vacation (I mean, we all have, haven’t we?  It’s not just me, is it?).  But a work week is something altogether different.  After a long day of working, it’s always hard to fight rush hour traffic to get to a game.  Of course, it’d be easier if I did my three games in three days in Bowie.  But I hadn’t thought of that.

Since the minor league season is about to end, I decided this past weekend was the obvious choice.  The Potomac Nationals, Hagerstown Suns, and Bowie Baysox all were home over the weekend.  And it turned out that it was also an Orioles-Nationals minor league weekend – meaning the O’s farm teams were playing Nats farm teams for the games I was attending.  (I wonder if they did that on purpose.)  Most importantly, however, all had good giveaways.  As I’ve said before, baseball fans love free stuff.

Game 1, Friday: Frederick Keys at the P-Nat. I love both teams, so I just can’t lose when they play each other.  It was also Danny Rosenbaum  bobblehead night.  In addition, O’s prospect Kevin Gausman was pitching.  

Game 2, Saturday:  Delmarva Shorebirds at the Hagerstown Suns.  They had a Bryce Harper replica jersey giveaway.  Got there 90 minutes early, although it turned out to be a double header that started earlier than the original game was scheduled.  Ended up with a kid-sized Harper shirt – but at least I got one!   

Game 3, Sunday:  Harrisburg Senators at my Baysox.  It was fan appreciation day, so they gave out free t-shirts.  Got there in time for the shirt, but also in time for the rain.  Unfortunately, the rain never stopped, and the game was postponed.

So, technically, I made it to three stadiums in three days, but didn’t get to see three games.  Oh well, it was the adventure of it all!  And did I mention I got free stuff?

~ baseballrebecca

 PS  I’ll resume my tales of Southern Baseball Adventures later this week!

One thought on “Three Teams, Three Days

Leave a Reply

