Minor League Season Comes to a Close


Every year I perform the somber ritual of taking down the Bowie Baysox schedules I have posted on the refrigerator at home and on my desk at work.  It’s a sad reminder that the minor league season is over and we have to wait seven months until opening day.

It was, however, one of the most exciting minor league seasons I’ve experienced.  From the Baysox’ win on Opening Day to the Baysox winning the first game of the Eastern League playoffs (although they didn’t advance), it was thrilling all the way. 

And it wasn’t just the Baysox.  Thanks to the Orioles’ Birdland Passport promotion, I made sure I saw the “baby birds” in Aberdeen and Delmarva, as well as the Frederick Keys and the Norfolk Tides.  I also made my annual pilgrimage to see the Potomac Nationals (when they were playing Frederick, of course) and even found time to catch a game in Hagerstown.  I also managed to squeeze in a baseball adventure this season – catching games in Memphis and Little Rock.  It was definitely a season to remember! 

I can’t pick just one moment that was the most memorable, but near the top would be winning a Matt Wieters signed baseball at the Norfolk Tides!  Definitely one of the coolest moments of the season. 

If you need one last glimpse of MiLB this year, the Triple A National Championship game is tonight:  Reno v. Pawtucket.

Of course, I still get to see a few of my guys in Baltimore as September call ups.  Speaking of which, the major league season is turning out to be quite memorable as well.  On Sunday, the Orioles managed to win their 82nd game of the season, securing a season winning record for the first time in 15 years.  We’re so close to the Yankees that the pinstripes are rather blinding.

 Happy September!

~ baseballrebecca

Leave a Reply

