Bobblehead Instructions


PNATS

I need a pinch hitter for Lucas Giolito Bobblehead Night at the Potomac Nationals, since I’ll be out of town. So, I’ve enlisted the help of my cousin. I figure if I prepare him early, he’ll be ready to come off the bench and get me the coveted bobble. Besides, he has been on several bobblehead and gnome missions before. He’s ready to go out on his own. I’m sure he’ll hit a home run.

Naturally, he needs to know the important details of how to get in the special Season Ticket holder line in order to be one of the lucky 1,500 to get the Giolito Bobble. At the beginning of the season, I purchased the special ticket pack so that I would have the ability to get into the stadium early, potentially ensuring my success at obtaining the elusive P-Nats bobbleheads. He needs to know exactly where to stand and exactly when to get there. The details of the operation are critical. It must be executed according to plan. Nothing can go wrong. We know what happens when things go wrong.

Unfortunately, I did not realize how complicated it sounded until it put it in text message form:

Text #1: You need to get there early. Like 45 min to an hour before. Take someone who can stand outside in the sun that long.

Text #2: The game is at 6:35. Gates open at 5:05. You’ll have my passes to get in 15 min early – so that’s 4:50. Need to be in line by maybe 4:15 at the latest.

Text #3: Unless it’s a double header, because of a rainout or something. Then the timeline will change.

Text #4: Have cold water handy when you stand in line. The line forms on the right hand side of that baseball field in front of the stadium – so take the second path, not the one that leads straight to the gate. Maybe I need to send a map so that makes sense.

               Response: Ok. I will need instructions based on double header or not.

 Text #5: LOL. Yeah. I’ll make a map.

Yeah. I’m not sure I’d understand those directions even with the map. It’s not that I doubt my cousin’s abilities. I doubt my ability to write decent instructions.

Giolito bobblehead night isn’t until August 6. We’ll have time to prepare. Maybe we can do a dry run. Hopefully, all will go as planned.

~ baseballrebecca

Leave a Reply

